AAA Diamond

American Automobile Association (AAA) is one of the world’s largest travel organisations, which published more than 300 million copies of travelling materials. The diamond rating system was introduced in 1977 during its 75th anniversary.

AAA restaurant rating covers United States, Canada, Mexico, and the Caribbean. Restaurants do not pay a fee to become AAA Diamond rated. They must first meet 12 essential requirements. A strict quality evaluation would then be completed before assigning a rating of one to five Diamonds, which indicates the extensiveness of food, décor, and personal service.

Basic good food

Relaxed family fare

Entry-level Fine Dining

Fine Dining

World-class Dining

Approximate 30,000 restaurants were reviewed in the rating for 2014. Only 59 achieved Five Diamonds; among about 2,000 reviewed restaurants in New York City, only seven have achieved Five Diamonds (Daniel, Del Posto, Eleven Madison Park, Jean Georges, Le Bernardin, Marea, and Per Se).


2017 AAA Five-Diamond Restaurants

2017 AAA Four-Diamond Restaurants

AAA Diamond Rating Definitions